Like most of us, I remember my parents, grandparents and aunts (less so my uncles – they were a quiet bunch) chatting about times gone by, and thinking how boring it all was and why did they have to keep going on about the old days….only to now wish I’d listened, as well as asked lots of questions about stuff I either never thought of asking or didn’t know about. How much did my nan really know about her birth? Was she aware she’d been born in London? Of course, dear old nan is long gone and I can’t ask – so part of the reason for this blog is so that in the future my own children and grandchildren might find a few answers to some of the questions they never asked me.

Questions like…

How did you and Chris meet?

What was it like when you went to school?

What naughty things did my dad do when he was little?

What relation was X to you and what part did they play in your life?

Did you really have a dinosaur as a pet?

You get the idea…….

Questions I Wish I’d Asked: What was your school like?

I’ve already written about my primary school and having to take the eleven plus exam, so what happened when I turned up on my first day at Diss Grammar School, and more to the point, can you visit my old school and see where I spent so many years growing up?

To answer the second question first….no. Diss Grammar School merged with the Secondary School, becoming Taylor Hall, and was finally closed around 1991 and demolished. It is now a housing estate – but the huge water tower that sat on its back boundary was still there last time I looked.